At Workiro we understand the importance of knowing what's happened, is happening, and needs to happen when looking after and building strong relationships with clients, and in order to work successfully as a team.
When everyone needs to be on the same page when it matters, without having to ask, you can allow full team access. With Workiro it's simple to eradicate the communication black box that gets created by traditional tools like email and chat.
Naturally there is always work that must be restricted in some way, and we provide a flexible range of access restrictions to cater for different use cases and teams sizes.
In this guide...
- Basic access restrictions
- Viewing team accessible threads
- Joining team accessible threads
- Default access
- Sharing restricted documents
- Team access to thread templates
- Restricting access by connection
Basic access restrictions
The team access control provides a simple way to restrict who can view the threads, documents and templates within your Workiro team.
You can control whether a thread or document is accessible to the rest of your team when creating or editing it.
You can toggle the control and provide Team Access to 'All' or 'None' of your team
Team access - All
- If a thread has team access set to 'All', then anyone within the team can access it via a related connection or project.
- Only the participants on a thread will receive notifications about it. Think of it like a magic email 'bcc' that doesn't create unnecessary noise - information is there when you need it, not when you don't.
- Any documents with team access set to 'All' can be found via the connection or project they've been related to.
Team access - None
- If team access is 'None' on a thread, only the thread participants can view it.
- If team access is 'None' on a document, only the uploader* can view it.
- *If the document is related to a thread then the thread participants can also view it
Viewing team accessible threads and documents
You can view threads or documents set to 'Team Access - All' by navigating to...
- Find and select a person or organisation to view
- Switch the toggle from 'Me' view to 'Team' view.
- The 'Me' view only displays threads on which you are a participant (and documents related to those threads), or documents that you have related to the connection.
- The 'Team' view adds to the view by displaying all team accessible threads and documents related to that Connection.
2. The Projects view
Team projects always display team accessible threads and documents.
Joining team accessible threads
If you are not currently participating on a team accessible thread you can choose to join it.
Whilst team members can control access on each thread or document they work with it can be helpful to set up default behaviours. Team owners can head over to Settings > Team > Options to configure the default team access (Default Visibility).
By default, visibility is 'Off' (Team Access - None), on threads that include external connections, such as clients. These threads are accessible only to team members participating on the thread, unless they decide to share it with the team. Likewise, threads exclusively between team members have access set to 'Off' (Team Access - None) by default. These defaults can easily be flipped 'On' (Team Access - All) depending on your approach.
Sharing restricted documents.
Files that are set to 'Team Access - None' can still be shared with selected colleagues by creating a thread from that file and adding them as participants.
Team access to thread templates
Creating templates will not only save you from having to create similar tasks from scratch every time, but also to help you and your team ensure consistent and accurate processes.
Templates are easily shared with the team when creating and naming, or when editing (go to 'Rename') a template.
With greater visibility and transparency across your team in Workiro, you'll see more efficiencies, identify opportunities, as well as improve communication and working relationships internally and externally.
Restricting access by connection
If your team needs more control than the basics above you can create groups of team members and restrict access to your connections on a group by group basis. Here's all you need to know about how and 'the why'.
Folders aren’t the thing
Workiro doesn’t use a folder structure to organise. We have a more flexible and extensive way of classifying documents and threads. Any number of organisations, people, threads, tags or projects can be ‘Related To…’ something.
Therefore the way we allow more granular control of access isn’t by locking off a folder. We do it in a smarter way…
Team owners are in charge
Automatic rules for access restrictions are controlled through connections (people and organisations). Team owners set team access restrictions to a connection.
When access is restricted a padlock displays.
They determine which groups in the team have access.
Automatic for the people
Restricting access to work and documents is now automatic and transparent to users in your team. When a team member relates something to a connection with access restrictions it will also gain those restrictions.
Participants see all
Participation in threads overrides any access restrictions. So, if you’re a participant in a thread that has a restricted connection either participating or related to it, you can still see everything in the thread (other participants, documents, etc.)
Security is baked in
Team members or participants cannot make a thread or document less restricted than the connections which are causing the restrictions.
How do I set up connection access restrictions?
As a team owner you can set up connection based access restrictions in two steps.
How do the team use this?
As a team member just carry on as usual by ensuring your work 'Relates to...' the restricted connection. You can see clearly when a connection to which you have access is restricted to others.
- From the connection directory and on their details view
- When selecting connections from a list
- When relating any document, thread or project to the restricted connection
Any related document, thread or template which would otherwise have been set to 'Team Access - All', will now clearly display 'Team Access - Restricted (Auto)'. If required, access can still be set to 'Team Access - None'.
Mixing it up
What happens if two or more restricted connections are related to a thread, document or project?
Simply put, you must be a member of a group that can access all of the restricted connections in order to access the related work.
Learn more about:
- Workiro teams
- Setting up your team (for team owners)
- Adding members to your team (for team owners)
- Working on team projects
- The team directory of contacts
- Task templates for repetitive or recurring tasks